NEUTRAL NURSERY ON A BUDGET: CLASSY MEETS RUSTIC

IMG_0439

From the moment my husband and I found out we were expecting, I began imagining and planning every detail of my son Mason’s nursery. I decided I wanted to keep it neutral, clean, and soft with a few touches of masculinity, without overdoing it, avoiding themes or anything that would make it appear gender-specific. Keeping it neutral would also make way for a future baby–girl or boy–so it was important that I could recycle much of the items in his room. I tried sticking with grays and whites throughout the room. I have a sick obsession with gray–you should see my home!

Aside from keeping it neutral, I wanted his room to look expensive without burning a hole in our wallets (kids outgrow things so fast–no need to blow all your savings!). I achieved this by using inspiration from more pricey stores, like Pottery Barn, Restoration Hardware or West Elm, but finding similar items at a more reasonable price. A lot of the items you will find below are dupes from high-end stores.

I won’t go into incredible detail with every item in the room but will give a brief overview of my favorites and will leave a product list for the rest so you know where to find them. Here we go:

CRIB AND BEDDING:

IMG_0441

My vision began with his crib. I found this middle-of-the-road, retro-inspiried crib at Target for $379.99. You can find the Hudson Babyletto Crib here. I also like to consider the Hudson Babyletto crib my dupe to the Harper Crib sold at Pottery Barn Kids. The price tag for the Harper crib is a whopping $999!!! I essentially have the same crib but saved $600 and poured my money into an American-made product. The Hudson comes in a variety of awesome colors but, again, I wanted to keep it neutral and clean.

I had a very specific vision for the crib bedding so I immediately knew I needed to find the right Etsy shop to customize what I was envisioning. If you know me, you know I’m an Etsy-holic. Can’t. Get. Enough. It’s bad. I wanted to tie-in a dark royal blue for a more masculine look but also wanted something that brought an element of classy. My sister-in-law discovered the PERFECT Etsy-based shop on Instagram, Fingers and Toes. The shop owner, Jonna, ran through about 12 different ideas with me, going back and forth with fabrics, prints, and colors. I was even able to customize the length of the bed skirt so it didn’t touch the ground… OCD much?! The quality is just as good, if not better, than PBK bedding but the cool thing is it was handmade, organic, is a one-of-a-kind, AND (my favorite part) I’m supporting a small business. For the bumper and bed skirt, I spent about $300 in total. A bit of a splurge but I think it really adds that pop that the room needed.

WALL ART AND DECOR: 

I decided I would achieve a more masculine look mainly by incorporating a few rustic pieces–my favorites being his name hanging over his crib and the cute wooden toy boxes sitting by the windows. I started out with a vision of what I wanted his letters to look like and then turned to Etsy. These letters were custom-made and purchased from heartifactsgallery. I worked with the shop owner, Melinda, on a few different wood samples and sizes, ending up with ones that most-closely complimented his toy boxes and dresser. The wooden letters were $110 and she had them made and shipped to me within 10 days.

DSC_0238

My all-time favorite children’s author is Shel Silverstein, so when I ran across these adorable prints from Paper Finch Design, I had to have them! These prints were a bargain, at only $25 for the pair. The matted frames I purchased from Target and they were the last left in stock–lucky me!DSC_0247

I fell in love with these rustic toy boxes, which I stumbled upon in the bathroom section at Home Goods. They were one of the first items I bought for Mason’s room and really set the masculine and rustic tone for the rest of the room. The boxes were around $55 for all three. While I doubt Home Goods still carries these exact boxes anymore, they always have similar items–and I would know, I’m there at least twice a week! 🙂

DSC_0229

Our entire upstairs is hardwood so I knew I would need to find a large, comfy rug for a baby to roll around on. I spotted this pretty rug from West Elm and almost gave in and purchased it for a whopping $1,299 (yikes). My mom told me I was crazy to buy an expensive white rug when I have two dogs who like to destroy anything and everything in their paths. I searched instead for a dupe and found a perfect (if not better) match. The nuLOOM Rug Moroccan Trellis Shag Rug from Overstock.com for $159.99. It’s probably my favorite piece in the room and really brings that classy looking edge I was trying to achieve. Not to mention, I love the texture the shag adds! IMG_0439

 PRODUCT LIST: 

IMG_0429

MIRROR – Home Goods $35

DRESSER/CHANGING TABLE – IKEA HEMNES 8-Drawer Dresser in Gray-Brown $229

GIRAFFE – Home Goods $35 (This is a PBK Jumo Giraffe dupe for around $64 less)

CHANGING PAD COVER – Pottery Barn Kids Harper Changing Pad Cover in Gray $29

LAUNDRY HAMPER – Home Goods $50

M Decal – DIY Project (around) $15 (supplies purchased from Michael’s)

DSC_0243

FLOOR POUF/OTTOMAN – Land of Nod Blue Knit Braided Pouf $129

I could have purchased the matching ottoman to go with the rocker but I love the look of poufs so much more! Aside from being a leg rest, it serves multiple purposes, such as seating for me, guests, or Mason once he grows. It also adds a pop of color and so much texture to the room. I love it!

PRODUCT LIST: 

IMG_0440

ROCKER – KACY Collection Morgan Nursery Swivel Glider $449.99 (I waited for weeks to purchase this glider until Babies R Us had a sale–final price was $382)

SHELF – IKEA  KALLAX Shelving Unit in White $59.99

SHELF BASKETS – IKEA KNIPSA Basket  $14.99/each

SIDE TABLE – Home Goods $60

LAMP – IKEA KVAVE Table Lamp (no longer sold)

CURTAINS – Pottery Barn (no longer sold)

DSC_0231

“YOU ARE MY SUNSHINE” PRINT – Made by my sister-in-law, Stephanie Myers, who will be opening an Etsy shop soon. She is a SUPER creative graphic designer who specializes in typography and custom-made invitations on the side. She actually made my blog banner by hand! Contact me for more details and I can put you in touch with her.

25

Thanks for stopping by and checking out Mason’s nursery! If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me or leave a comment below! Stay tuned for more…

2 thoughts on “NEUTRAL NURSERY ON A BUDGET: CLASSY MEETS RUSTIC

  1. Jen says:

    Mason is so lucky to have such a classy room – I love everything! Especially your wooden toy boxes, rug, and pouf! PS I’m so jealous of all the stores you can go to!

    Like

Leave a Reply

